Book Smack! editor McCormack wins Shores/ABC-CLIO Award

Heather McCormack, managing editor of Library Journal’s Book Review section, is the recipient of the Reference and User Services Association’s (RUSA) 2010 Louis Shores/ABC-CLIO award recognizing excellence in book reviewing.

McCormack was selected for her innovative spirit demonstrated by her creation and editing of Book Smack!, which is a free bi-weekly online newsletter that covers topics and titles not typically included in other reviewing sources. The newsletter aims to assist readers’ advisory and collection development librarians with their work. As the first issue of the newsletter stated, Book Smack! “aims to hit you with the strength of a Superman kerpow! and deliver book and multimedia information that blasts you out of your daily grind, if only for five minutes.” You can sign up for this free newsletter at

The Louis Shores/ABC-CLIO Award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization for excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries.

The winner was selected by the award committee, whose members include Edward Kownslar, chairperson, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi; Christine King, Iowa State University; Megan McArdle, Berkeley Public Library; Dianne Narum, Bemidji State University; and Corrine Syster, Harrisburg Area Community College.

1 Comment »

  1. RUSABlog » RUSA Book and Media Awards Reception the highlight of MW2010 Said,

    January 20, 2010 @ 10:59 am

    […] Louis Shores/ABC-CLIO Award for book reviewing […]

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.