BREAKING NEWS: Finalists announced for first ever Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction–co-sponsored by RUSA

We’re excited to share the announcement video revealing the six finalists for the first annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Watch the video now!

Chaired by Nancy Pearl, the selection committee–three former members of RUSA CODES Notable Books Council and three Booklist editors–considered a long list of 50 titles taken from the previous year’s Booklist Editors’ Choice and RUSA CODES Notable Books lists.

From the six titles they selected for this shortlist, one fiction and one nonfiction author will go on to receive a winning medal and $5,000 cash prize, while the authors of the four remaining titles will each receive $1,500. The winning titles will be announced at a special event at ALA Annual Conference on Sunday, June 24—get your ticket now if you’re attending the conference in Anaheim!

The 2012 finalists are:

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction:

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, by Robert K. Massie, published by Random House, an imprint of the Random House Publishing Group
The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, by James Gleick, published by Pantheon Books, a division of Random House, Inc.
Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention, by Manning Marable, published by Viking Penguin, a member of Penguin Group (USA)

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction:

The Forgotten Waltz, by Anne Enright, published by W. W. Norton & Company
Lost Memory of Skin, by Russell Banks, published by Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Swamplandia!, by Karen Russell, published by Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House, Inc.

Get annotations and more information on the finalists and the awards!

This is the first time the ALA is offering single-book awards for adult trade fiction and nonfiction. The finalist authors and eventual winners reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. The awards are made possible by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York and are co-sponsored by RUSA and Booklist.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.