RUSA Awards Reception @ Annual Conference: Congratulations, winners!

Congratulations to all of our 2012 RUSA achievement award winners!

We’ll be celebrating the winners at the RUSA Awards Reception at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif. The party is scheduled for Sunday, June 24, 5:00-6:30p.m. in Sequoia Ballrooms E-H at the Grand Californian (GRAND). Add the reception to your conference schedule.

If you happen to run into any of our winners during your time in Anaheim, make sure to give them a hearty “CONGRATULATIONS” for their accomplishments!

  • STARS/Atlas Systems Mentoring Award: Natalie D. Beam
  • BRASS Gale Cengage Learning Student Travel Award: Ilana Barnes
  • Morningstar Public Librarian Support Award: Anne MacDonald
  • BRASS Business Expert Press Award: Joel Glogowski
  • BRASS Emerald Research Grant Awards: Kerry Wu and Heidi E. K. Senior; Louise Mort Feldmann
  • MARS My Favorite Martian Award: Carolyn S. Larson
  • RSS Service Achievement Award: Lisa R. Horowitz
  • Reference Service Press Award: Nancy D. Zionts, Janice H. Apter, Julianna Kuchta and Pamela K. Greenhouse for “Promoting Consumer Health Literacy: Creation of a Health Information Librarian Fellowship” (RUSQ 49:4 Summer 2009); and Marie L. Radford, Lynn Silipigni Connaway, Patrick A. Confer, Susanna Sabolcsi-Boros and Hannah Kwon for “Are We Getting Warmer?: Query Clarification in Live Chat Virtual Reference” (RUSQ 50:3 Spring 2010)
  • Dartmouth Medal: Green’s Dictionary of Slang (Chambers).
    Honorable Mention: International Encyclopedia of Political Science (Sage Reference in association with the International Political Science Association)
    Lifetime Achievement Award: Statistical Abstract fo the United States (United States Department of Commerce)
  • Sophie Brody Medal: Adina Hoffman and Peter Cole for Sacred Trash: The Lost and Found World of the Cairo Geniza
    Honorable Mentions: Simon Sebag Montefiore for Jerusalem: the Biography (Knopf); Art Spiegelman for MetaMaus (Pantheon Books); Erika Dreifus for Quiet Americans: Stories (Last Light Studio Books)
  • Zora Neale Hurston Award: Vanessa Irvin Morris
  • Louis Shores Award: Sarah L. Johnson
  • John Sessions Award: San Francisco State University’s Labor Archives and Research Center
  • Genealogical Publishing Company/History Section Award: Jay L. Verkler
  • Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship: Rita W. Moss
  • Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Services: Richland County Public Library for “Employment Search Portfolio” and “Searching for a Job Online”
  • Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL Librarian Award: Cyril Oberlander
  • Margaret E. Monroe Award: Neal Wyatt
  • Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award: Robert (Bob) Kieft

We’ll also recognize Reference & User Services Quarterly reviewers: Michael F. Bemis, Nancy F. Carter, Christopher Lee Cochran, John Maxymuk, Eric Novotny, Cheryl Rae Nyberg, Amanda Sprochi, Larry Cooperman, Sarah J. Hart, Jenny Foster Stenis, Sarah Van Gundy, Melanie Wachsmann, Lisa Powell Williams.



Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.