How and Why to Volunteer for RUSA

Dear RUSA Members,

I invite you to volunteer for one of RUSA’s and its sections’ committees.

If you are already a committee volunteer, thank you for your service: you are so much appreciated!  Because of your contributions, our division and sections accomplish much. RUSA, through its volunteers, has provided:

This is just a small sampling of what our volunteers plan and take part in, and what makes RUSA a terrific place for opportunities for service, your professional growth, and networking with colleagues.

If you are not yet a member of any of our committees, please join. All current members may volunteer here: http://www.ala.org/cfapps/committee/volunteerform (you will be asked to login using your ALA login).

Second, write to the vice-chair of the section who will appoint the committees for 2014.  Tell him or her about your experience and why you can be of help to these groups.  Contact them at:

Andy Spackman
andy_spackman@byu.edu   
RUSA BRASS Vice-Chair (Business Reference and Services Section)

Asia E. Gross 
agross@stchlibrary.org
RUSA CODES Vice-Chair (Collection Development and Evaluation Section)

Michelle M. Baildon   
baildon@mit.edu        
RUSA History Vice-Chair (History Section)

Samuel Rutherford Stormont
srstormont@widener.edu      
RUSA MARS Vice-Chair (MARS: Emerging Technologies in Reference Section)

Ann K. G. Brown
agbrown@email.gwu.edu
RUSA RSS Vice-Chair (Reference Services Section)

Nora E. Dethloff
ndethloff@uh.edu
RUSA STARS Vice-Chair (Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section)

In addition, please feel free to write to M. Kathleen Kern (katkern@illinois.edu), our current RUSA Vice President who is appointing to RUSA committees for her presidential term in 2014. 

A quick note to potential book lover volunteers: many members are interested in serving on the Notable Books Council, where three of the committee members for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction come from. The number of volunteers far outnumbers the slots for members on this committee. Don’t forget that we have many other committees for book lovers that are looking for members, too! Check out our Listen List, the Reading List, the Sophie Brody award, and all the others on our committee roster page. All provide excellent experience in book reviewing.

Thank you again to all our current, past and future volunteers – you are truly what makes RUSA such a wonderful place to be!

Best Wishes,

Susan Hornung

RUSA Executive Director

shornung@ala.org

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.