Multimedia & Technology Reviews selected as 2016 Louis Shores Award winner

The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association, has selected Multimedia & Technology Reviews as the recipient of the 2016 Louis Shores Award, which recognizes outstanding book and media reviewing for libraries.

The Louis Shores Award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization for excellence in reviewing materials for libraries.

Multimedia & Technology Reviews targets projects, products, events and issues within the broad realm of multimedia and technology as they pertain to arts scholarship, research and librarianship. Under the auspices of its parent organization, the Art Libraries Society of North America, the work of Multimedia & Technology Reviews has proven it to be a true leader in the field of reviewing. The publication is an expert source, reviewing a wide selection of subjects and formats, offering opportunities and guidance in writing reviews to librarians, MLIS students and a broad range of volunteers. Multimedia & Technology Reviews displays a strong commitment to providing reviews that librarians can use to learn about, examine and discuss multimedia tools that are being developed in the ever-changing world of technology.

Multimedia & Technology Reviews offers incisive, objectively written critical reviews for a variety of free multimedia resources. Additionally, the publication itself is readily available online, making the reviews freely accessible to anyone involved in developing library media collections.

The combination of forward-thinking coverage of emerging trends and its inclusive approach to gathering reviewers with a variety of skill sets and disciplinary backgrounds make Multimedia & Technology Reviews a unique and welcome addition to the library reviews landscape.

Multimedia & Technology Reviews will be presented with the Louis Shores Award at the RUSA Achievement Awards at the 2016 American Library Association Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

The winner was selected by the Louis Shores Award committee, whose members include Lucy M. Lockley, chair, St. Charles City-County Library District, Missouri; Emily Hamstra, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Edward Kownslar, Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi, Corpus Christi, Texas; and Sarah Barbara Watstein, University of North Carolina Wilmington, Wilmington, North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *