Gale Cengage History Research and Innovation Award: Seeking history and history librarianship researchers to apply for grant

Are you interested in history research?  Do you wish you had funding to assist in your research? RUSA’s History Section is now accepting nominations for the Gale Cengage History Research and Innovation Award.  The nomination period is open until December 15, 2012.

The award will be granted to an MLS degreed librarian from an ALA accredited school to facilitate and further research relating to history and history librarianship. The award winner will receive a citation and up to $2500 which may be used at the winner’s discretion to pay for research-related expenses.  This new award will be presented at the ALA 2013 Annual Conference.

Submissions and questions should be directed to the committee chair, Janice Schultz, (816) 252-7228 or email

Exceptional RSS members wanted for RUSA’s 2013 RSS Service Achievement Award

Do you know an outstanding RUSA Reference Services Section member deserving of national recognition? Nominate him or her for the 2013 Reference Services Section (RSS) Achievement Award. This award honors an RSS member’s contributions to the section. The recipient will be chosen based on either sustained contributions towards attaining the goals of RSS or a single significant contribution that has resulted in a positive impact upon the work of the section.

Please send your nomination detailing specifically how the nominee has met either of these criteria to Virginia Cole (, the award committee chair, by December 15.

Learn more about RUSA’s Reference Services Section.

Nominate an outstanding book reviewer for RUSA’s Louis Shores Award

Know someone(s) who should be recognized for their work in book reviewing?

RUSA is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Louis Shores Award. The deadline for all nominations is Dec. 15, 2012.

The Louis Shores Award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization for excellence in reviewing books and other media for libraries. The winner receives a citation.

Recent past winners include:

  • Sarah L. Johnson, professor of library services at Eastern Illinois University and author of the blog Reading the Past.
  • Bill Ott, editor and publisher of Booklist magazine, was selected for his outstanding contributions to the field of reviewing.
  • Heather McCormack, managing editor of Library Journal’s Book Review section and creator and editor of Book Smack!
  • Blogging for a Good Book, Williamsburg Regional Library

For a nomination form and submission instructions go to

Contact Barry Trott, Louis Shores Award Committee Chair, btrott – at –