Archive for Call for Contributions or Nominations

RUSA seeks webinar proposals for 2014

E-books, library programming, outreach, reference services, collection development and readers’ advisory are just some of the webinar topics sought by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) for spring 2014; proposals can be submitted online through January 15, 2014.

RUSA webinars are an opportunity for librarians, library support staff and LIS professionals to conveniently and affordably participate in professional development opportunities covering emerging trends in the profession. Webinars will take place throughout the 2014 calendar year and will cover topics relevant to a broad range of library and information professionals.

Ideal proposals will:

  • Show plans for presentations that are 60-75 minutes in length;
  • Identify clear learning outcomes for the session;
  • Show how the presentation addresses a topic either of interest to RUSA members, or represents an area of RUSA’s expertise that benefits other types of librarians.

The following potential webinar topics are of great value and interest, though RUSA welcomes submissions presenting on a number of others as well:

  • reference basics;
  • reference for special populations;
  • research, trends and hot topics in readers advisory;
  • information literacy;
  • community partnerships;
  • library programming and outreach;
  • government data and related resources;
  • library spaces and design;
  • copyright in the digital age;
  • collection development;
  • special collections;
  • standards and guidelines;
  • genealogy;
  • business reference;
  • fundraising;
  • marketing;
  • job searching and related resources;
  • book reviewing;
  • interlibrary loan;
  • e-books;
  • technology trends;
  • resource sharing;
  • disaster preparedness and relief; and more!

Proposals may be submitted using the online proposal form. Proposals are accepted and evaluated on an ongoing basis until January 15. 2014. Review RUSA’s current online learning offerings, including webinars and courses.

Presenters for accepted proposals will receive compensation for their time and will also receive training for Adobe Connect, RUSA’s online presentation software. Questions about RUSA’s webinar offerings and proposals can be sent to Andrea Hill, RUSA web manager and online learning liaison at

Leave a Comment

Call for nominations: Novelist’s Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award

Know someone that has done outstanding work in library adult services?

Nominations are still open for the  Novelist’s Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award offered by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).

The $1250 award and citation honors a practicing librarian, library and information science researcher or educator or retired librarian who has made a significant contribution to library adult services. Contributions may include, but are not limited to, exemplified leadership, introduction of creative and innovative concepts in adult services, measurable effectiveness of managed programs and published works.

Those interested in submitting a nomination can download the nomination form and follow the instructions therein.

All nominations must be received by Dec. 15, and can be submitted via e-mail or mail.

Questions or comments can be directed to the committee chair, Stacy Alesi (

Leave a Comment

Call for nominations: 2014 Louis Shores Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 Louis Shores Award.

Library collections depend on the guidance of good reviewers. Reviewers, review editors, and bloggers, help librarians to make wise purchasing decisions and help us to guide our patrons to the best resources. The Louis Shores Award recognizes excellence in reviewing. The Louis Shores Award is awarded annually to an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium, or organization. To nominate your favorite reviewer or review source for the award, complete the nomination form and follow the submission guidelines.

The winner of the 2014 Louis Shores Award will be honored at the RUSA Awards Reception at ALA Annual in Las Vegas, June 26-July 1.

The deadline for 2014 submissions is December 15th, 2013.

Questions can be directed to committee chair, Emily Hamstra,

Leave a Comment

Call for nominations: RSS Service Achievement Award

Have you done some outstanding work for the Reference Services Section (RSS)? Know someone who has? Submit your nomination today!

The RSS Service Achievement Award, founded in 2010, is given to an RSS member who has made either a sustained contribution towards attaining the goals of the Reference Services Section or a single significant contribution that has resulted in a positive impact upon the work of the section.

Please send a nomination letter detailing specifically how the nominee has met either of the above criteria to the award committee chair, Emilie Smart (

Anyone who wishes to nominate a Reference Services Section member for the award should do so by December 15.

Nominations and questions regarding the award should be directed to the committee chair.

Leave a Comment