Call for nominations: RUSA’s 2015 Achievement Awards deadline Dec. 14

RUSA is seeking nominations for its annual series of awards and grants. Nominations and supporting materials for most awards must be submitted by Dec. 14, 2014.

RUSA encourages members to nominate their colleagues whose work has influenced their thinking and performance and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession.

Achievement awards for individuals and groups:

Travel awards to the ALA Annual Conference:

  • BRASS Gale Cengage Learning Student Travel Award presents funds to a student enrolled in an ALA accredited master’s degree program to fund travel the ALA Annual Conference. Sponsored by Gale Cengage Learning; $1,250* and a citation. This award’s nomination deadline is Feb. 8, 2015.
  • BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award is presented to a new librarian in the field of academic business librarianship in order to support attendance to the ALA Annual Conference. $1,250* and a citation.
  • Morningstar Public Librarian Support Award offers funds to a public librarian who has performed outstanding business reference service and who requires financial assistance to attend the ALA Annual Conference. Sponsored by Morningstar, Inc.; $1,250* and a citation.
  • STARS/Atlas Systems Mentoring Award offers ALA Annual Conference travel assistance funds to a library practitioner who is new to the field of interlibrary loan/document delivery or electronic reserves, and who has involvement in the areas of borrowing, lending, document delivery, electronic reserves, material delivery or resource sharing. Sponsored by Atlas Systems; $1,250* and a citation.

Research grants:

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson—access committee contact information by logging in at, then accessing the RUSA roster webpage—or to the RUSA headquarters staff.

More information about these awards, including nominating instructions, can be found on RUSA’s awards webpage.

Call for nominations: 2015 Louis Shores Award for excellence in book reviewing

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015 Louis Shores Award.

Library collections depend on the guidance of good reviewers. Reviewers, review editors, and bloggers, help librarians to make wise purchasing decisions and help us to guide our patrons to the best resources. The Louis Shores Award recognizes excellence in reviewing. The Louis Shores Award is awarded annually to an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium, or organization. To nominate your favorite reviewer or review source for the award, complete the nomination form and follow the submission guidelines therein.

The winner of the 2015 Louis Shores Award will be honored at the RUSA Awards Reception at ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, June 25-30, 2015.

The deadline for 2014 submissions is December 14th, 2014.

Questions can be directed to committee chair, Emily Hamstra,

Many 2014 Achievement Awards deadlines extended to Dec. 23

The nomination deadline has been extended to Dec. 23, 2013 for several of RUSA’s annual awards  with the exception of the BRASS Gale Cengage Learning Student Travel Award, which has a deadline of Jan. 31, 2014.

Award criteria, nomination forms and instructions for submissions are available at each of the award’s web pages, which can be accessed by clicking on the award names below. More information about these awards, including nominating instructions, can be found at the RUSA Awards Web page. Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson or to Leighann Wood, RUSA’s awards program coordinator, at

Awards for Individuals and Groups for Professional Achievement

  • The Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award presents a monetary prize of $5,000 and a citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship.
  • The Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services offers $3,000 prize and a citation which is given to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique resource to meet patrons’ reference needs.
  • The Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship presents a citation and $3,000 cash award to an individual who has made a significant contribution to business librarianship.
  • The History Section Genealogical Publishing Company Award is presented to a librarian, library or publisher who is a RUSA member and recognizes professional achievement in historical reference and research librarianship. Sponsored by Genealogical Publishing Company; prize of $1,500 and a citation.
  • The Louis Shores Award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization for excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries. The winner receives a citation at the RUSA awards ceremony at the ALA Annual Conference.
  • The RSS Service Achievement Award is a citation presented annually to a Reference Services Section (RSS) member in recognition of exceptional contributions to the section.
  • The John Sessions Memorial Award is a $1,000 prize and a citation recognizing a library or library system which has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States.
  • Novelist’s Margaret E. Monroe Award is a $1,250 prize sponsored by Novelist and a citation presented to a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services.
  • The Zora Neale Hurston Award is a citation given to an ALA member that has demonstrated outstanding leadership in promoting African American literature.

Travel Grants to ALA Annual Conference

Research Grants

  • The BRASS Emerald Research Grant consists of a $2,500 award and a citation presented to an individual or a group seeking support to conduct research in business librarianship. This award is sponsored by Emerald Group Publishing Limited.

For complete details including eligibility, criteria, submission guidelines and committee information, please visit the RUSA Awards page.

The Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association, represents librarians and library staff in the fields of reference, specialized reference, collection development, readers’ advisory and resource sharing. RUSA is the foremost organization of reference and information professionals who make the connections between people and the information sources, services, and collection materials they need.  Not a member, but interested in discounted registration rates on conference, preconferences and other events? Join, renew or add RUSA to your ALA membership at Learn more about the association at

Call for nominations: RSS Service Achievement Award

Have you done some outstanding work for the Reference Services Section (RSS)? Know someone who has? Submit your nomination today!

The RSS Service Achievement Award, founded in 2010, is given to an RSS member who has made either a sustained contribution towards attaining the goals of the Reference Services Section or a single significant contribution that has resulted in a positive impact upon the work of the section.

Please send a nomination letter detailing specifically how the nominee has met either of the above criteria to the award committee chair, Emilie Smart (

Anyone who wishes to nominate a Reference Services Section member for the award should do so by December 15.

Nominations and questions regarding the award should be directed to the committee chair.