We are excited to announce the RUSA Division and Section slate of nominees standing for election in 2014.

They are:

Anne   Beaubien                   
Liane Taylor               

Danise G. Hoover
Stephanie Atkins Sharpe   
William A. McHugh              

Julia A. Martin                       
J. Paul Brothers                     

Arguello, Natasha              
Barsh, Adele L.                           

Dewland, Jason C.                 
Kenly, Patricia E.

Kownslar, Edward                 
Yue, Joseph                              

Wall, Patrick Joseph            
Rue, Charlene                          
Cobb, Jannie R.                      
Crosser, Cynthia                    

Ferree, Curtis                        
Sonsteby, Alec                      

Murray, David C.                 
Wilke, Mary I.                       

Kitchens, Joel D.                    
Vaidyanathan, Chella           
Lupkin, Joshua M.                        

Coleman, Jason Matthew  
Scanlon, Donna                      

Bishop, Chanitra                    

Houlson, Van                         
Torrence, Matt                             

Lentz, Crystal M.                   
Boozer, Donald E.                 

Reinsfelder, Tom                   

Keough, Cathay                    
Yue, Joseph                            

McHone-Chase, Sarah M.  
Christenson, Troy Alan      
Bruno, Tom                             

Moskal, Robin Barnard     
Mak, Collette Gurley          
Clausen, Beth                         

Gibson, Tess                           
Highham, Krista L.               

A heartfelt thank you to all above who are standing for election and donating their valuable time!

Susan Hornung

Executive Director, RUSA

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

Dear RUSA Members:

Hopefully you have heard about two new awards sponsored by the Carnegie Corporation, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. RUSA and Booklist are co-sponsoring and administering the awards. The first winners of these new annual literary prizes will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim this June. 

These new awards are an incredible accomplishment and it is a testament to the hard work of many people in RUSA, particularly many past CODES members, that we were the division selected to administer the grant, together with Booklist.  I’d also like to convey a special thanks to our reader’s advisor stars – Joyce Saricks and Neal Wyatt – who made this possible, to Nancy Pearl who is serving as the chair of the awards committee and who will bring national recognition to this award, and to Susan Hornung and the RUSA staff who, together with others in ALA, worked incredibly hard on making this award possible. 

The awards will be given to the author of the best book for adult readers in two categories—fiction and nonfiction— each year. Two additional authors will be shortlisted as finalists in each of the categories.  Winning authors will receive a $5,000 cash award, and finalists will each receive $1,500. The list of finalists will be announced in May.  The awards are made possible by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York on the occasion of the foundation’s centennial and in recognition of Andrew Carnegie, one of the greatest benefactors of libraries both in the United States and around the globe, who recognized libraries as indispensable to the progress of society.  The 50 titles under consideration for the prize are being drawn from the annual Booklist Editors’ Choice and RUSA CODES Notable Books lists.

This is the first time that ALA will offer single-book awards for adult trade fiction and nonfiction.  All of us at RUSA are incredibly thrilled about these new awards and we hope that you will be able to join us this June to see the first winners. The Carnegie Awards reception will be held Sunday, June 24, 2012, 8:00 pm – 10:00 pm. See you there!


Gary White

RUSA President