Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award

credo reference logo

The Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award was established in 1958. Sponsored by Credo Reference, this award presents a monetary prize of $5,000* and a citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. This contribution may include an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; authorship of a significant book or articles in the reference field; creative and inspirational teaching; active participation in professional associations devoted to reference services; or leadership in other noteworthy professional activities.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson or to Leighann Wood, RUSA awards program coordinator, at


Nomination Form: To submit a nomination, download and complete the form and follow the submission instructions therein.

The deadline for nominations is December 9, 2016.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Cheryl M. LaGuardia,

Award Recipients

2016: Cheryl LaGuardia, research librarian, Widener Library of Harvard University

2015: Denise Beaubien Bennett, engineering librarian, University of Florida

2014: William Miller, Florida Atlantic University

2013: Neal Wyatt

2012: Robert (Bob) Kieft

2011: Diane Zabel, The Pennsylvania State University

2010: Marie L. Radford, Associate Professor, School of Communication and Information, Department of Library and Information Science, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey

2009:Nancy Huling, University of Washington

2008: Margaret Stieg Dalton

2007: Barbara Mita Chaikin Bibel

2006: Joseph W. Janes

2005: David Tyckoson

2004: Robert Balay

2003: Martin Sable

2002: James P. Danky

2001: Carole Leita

2000: Linda C. Smith

1999: Virginia Massey-Burzio

1998: Beth S. Woodard

1997: Joan C. Durrance

1996: Joe Morehead

1995: Roger K. Summit

1994: Anne Grodzins Lipow

1993: Andrew M. Hansen

1992: Gail A. Schlachter

1991: Peter Watson-Boone

1990: Virginia Boucher

1989: P. William Filby

1988: James Rettig

1987: Marjorie E. Murfin

1986: Sylvia G. Mechanic

1985: Thomas A. Childers

1984: Sara D. Knapp

1983: Charles A. Bunge

1982: Robert L. Collison

1981: Eugene Paul Sheehy

1980: Hylda Kamisar

1979: Henry J. Dubester

1978: C. Edward Wall

1977: Bohden S. Wynar

1976: John Neal Waddell (awarded post-humously)

1975: Jean L. Connor

1974: Florence E. Blakely

1973: William A. Katz

1972: Thomas J. Galvin

1971: James Bennet Childs

1970: Thomas Besterman

1969: No award

1968: Thomas S. Shaw

1967: Louis Shores

1966: Frances B. Jenkins

1965: Katharine G. Harris

1964: Ruth Walling

1963: Mabel Conat

1962: Frances Neel Cheney

1961: Edith M. Coulter

1960: Constance M. Winchell

1959: Mary Neill Barton

Font Resize