Louis Shores Award

Established in 1990, this award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium, or organization for excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries. Award winners receive a citation.

The son of politically progressive German-Jewish immigrants, Louis Shores taught English at traditionally black Fisk University. In 1933 he became dean of the library school at George Peabody College for Teachers in Nashville, Tenn., where he received his Ph.D. (1934) and pioneered courses in audio-visual materials. Later, he worked concurrently as dean of the library school at Florida State University (1941–67) and as consultant to Collier’s Encyclopedia.


To nominate an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium, or organization, download and complete the nomination form (PDF format), and follow the submission instructions therein. Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Neal Wyatt, nealwyatt@comcast.net.

The deadline for nominations is December 9, 2016.

Recent Recipients

2016Multimedia & Technology Reviews
2015Brad Hooper, Booklist
2014Francine Graf, managing editor at Choice
2013NoveList’s NextReads.
2012Sarah L. Johnson, professor of library services at Eastern Illinois University and author of the blog Reading the Past.
2011Bill Ott, editor and publisher of Booklist magazine, was selected for his outstanding contributions to the field of reviewing.